Clifford’s Tower is the largest remaining part of York Castle, which is now in the care of English Heritage. William the Conqueror built the original timber tower on top of the earth mound in 11th-century, which subsequently burned down in 1190. The stone tower that presides today was built in the mid-13th century by King Henry III and has had several uses since, including acting as a treasury and a prison. Today, the tower is popular with visitors and provides a spectacular viewpoint overlooking the historic city centre.
We had the pleasure of working with English Heritage, conducting bat surveys at Clifford’s Tower. These surveys helped to inform a planning application for a new roof deck and changes to the staircase at the Scheduled Monument to improve visitor experience and help to protect its historic stonework.